瑞典新兴公司宣布针对太阳能的纳米线突破技术 具备可提高模組性能50%以上的潜力

在一项针对太阳能的重大突破技术上,瑞典的先进材料新兴公司Sol Voltaics AB已经证明其纳米线技术在薄膜上取得了校准和定向的成功。此项成就彰显太阳能纳米线制造迄今最重要的技术里程碑,为光伏(PV)模组实现27%及更高的转换效率铺平了道路—此举将使现今的太阳能模组转换效率提升50%。

纳米线在太阳能发电上展现出了前景可期的特性,但由于高深宽比及材料特性却使纳米线非常难以校准。通过在标准尺寸晶圆上以厘米级控制纳米线的校准和定向,Sol Voltaics已经迈出了将太阳能薄膜应用于串联式光伏模组并实现商业化生产的重要的一步。

“今天的宣布标志着Sol Voltaics和全球太阳能产业的一个重要的时刻,”Sol Voltaics首席执行官Erik Smith说道。 “砷化镓(GaAs)纳米线已经走到了产业的第一线,对提升远超过目前水平的太阳能模组效率带来很大的希望。通过将纳米线在薄膜内进行校准,我们已经迈出朝向商业规模化制造太阳能纳米线薄膜最大的一步。这将使太阳能板制造商能大幅提高其产品发电的能力。“

2015 Sol Voltaics 發佈讯息,Fraunhofer-ISE证实了公司的外延生长砷化镓纳米线太阳能电池实现了15.3%的光伏转换效率的世界纪录。继這讯息之后的最新的里程碑是,这些电池最近由Fraunhofer重新测试,在初步测试后的18个月内显示很少或并没有电池衰减现象,进一步确认了技术的性能可靠性。

除了纳米线校准的突破外,Sol Voltaics的Aerotaxy®生产技术已发展了好几个世代。该项专利工艺允许通过连续气相工艺生产制造具有成本效益的三五族(III-V)纳米线太阳能电池。

“我们已经在过去的几个季度取得了几项显着的进步,而且该势头在几个方面仍然持续着,”Smith说道。 “实际上,在迈向商业化的进程中我们仍有一些剩余的障碍需要克服,但我们非常有信心我们能提供一个真正具有变革的能源解决方案,为那些由Breakthrough Energy Coalition、COP21峰会及其他全球齐力以对抗气候变迁并创造洁净能源经济所呼吁的解决方案。“

Sol Voltaics Announces Nanowire Breakthrough For Solar Energy; Has Potential to Boost Module Performance By More Than 50 Percent

In a major breakthrough for solar energy, Swedish advanced materials start-up Sol Voltaics AB has confirmed the successful alignment and orientation of nanowires in a thin film. The achievement represents the most significant technology milestone in solar nanowire manufacturing to date, paving the way for photovoltaic (PV) module efficiencies of 27% or more—a 50% boost in energy conversion efficiencies for today’s solar modules.

While showing highly promising characteristics in solar energy generation, nanowires are notoriously difficult to align due to their high aspect ratios and material characteristics. By controlling nanowire orientation and alignment at centimeter scale on standard-sized wafers, Sol Voltaics has taken a major step toward the commercial production of solar films for tandem solar PV modules.

“Today’s announcement marks a significant moment for both Sol Voltaics and the global solar energy industry,” said Erik Smith, CEO of Sol Voltaics. “Gallium arsenide (GaAs) nanowires have recently come to the forefront as holding great promise for boosting solar module efficiencies well beyond current levels. By aligning nanowires within a membrane, we’ve taken our greatest stride yet toward manufacturing solar nanowire films at the commercial scale. This will enable solar panel manufacturers to greatly enhance the energy-generating capability of their products.”

The latest milestone follows Sol Voltaics’ 2015 announcement that the Fraunhofer-ISE confirmed a world-record PV conversion efficiency of 15.3% for the company’s epitaxially grown GaAs nanowire solar cells. The cells were recently retested by Fraunhofer and showed little or no degradation nearly 18 months after the initial tests, reaffirming the technology’s performance reliability.

In addition to the nanowire alignment breakthrough, Sol Voltaics has progressed through several generations of development of its Aerotaxy® production technology. The patented process allows cost-effective III-V nanowire solar cell production via a continuous gas phase process.

“We have made several significant advancements over the past few quarters, and that momentum continues on several fronts,” added Smith. “Realistically, we have a few remaining hurdles to get over in order to get into commercialization but we’re very confident we can deliver a truly transformative energy solution, the kind of solution called for by the Breakthrough Energy Coalition, COP 21 summit, and other global efforts to combat climate change and create a clean energy economy.”